10
Apr
08

Causal Argumentation

So as I lay thinking over my ‘man-as-an-experiment-in-imperfection’ theory, I realized something: how can God create something he has no comprehension of? I mean, if He truly does not know what imperfection is, how could He create it? It’s like Descartes’ Causal Argument:

      The cause of an idea must have as much reality as the idea represents its object as having

Therefore, in order to create imperfection, God must know what imperfection actually is. But perhaps we weren’t created so much to, for lack of a better term, “invent” imperfection, but rather to see it in action since He was already aware of it. Hm. Maybe I should just go to sleep. Before I go, though, I think I will leave you with the Causal Argument for God’s Existence (from Descartes’ Meditation III) 

  1. The cause of an idea must have as much reality as the idea represents its object as having
  2. Only a perfect God has as much reality as my idea of God represents him as having
  3. The cause of my idea of God is a perfect God
  4. Therefore, a perfect God really exists
Basically, it says that since we came up with the idea for God, we must have experienced Him at some point, so He must exist.
Sleep on that. 

 


1 Response to “Causal Argumentation”


  1. 1 kylee
    April 10, 2008 at 23:50

    shut up you’re making my brain hurt


Leave a comment


April 2008
M T W T F S S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Pages